kelly green with envy

Chanel Iman and Karlie Kloss for last year's FNO

Today is the day that rules all days…until next season anyway. Today, Fashion’s Night Out and New York Fashion Week kicks off for the Spring/Summer 2012 season. The fashion masses have flocked or will be flocking to the Big Apple in their Charlotte Olympia’s with Céline shoulder bags and iPads in tow. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t jealous. I am beyond green with envy. I do, one day, hope to experience events of such grandeur in NYC (and beyond), even if only for a day…or an hour. I can’t even imagine what an entire day of NYFW would entail, so I look forward to all the coverage that will be spreading all over the information super highway, or as the cool kids call it: the blogosphere.

Some shows that I am looking forward to this NYFW include; of course, Marc Jacobs and everything he touches; what the boys behind Proenza Schouler, Jack and Lazaro, have in store; the Mulleavy sisters with Rodarte; the Olsen sisters and The Row; tribal-inspired Suno; Thakoon; the anticipated line from Kanye West; Jason Wu; Reed Krakoff…I could go on and on and on. See a small few of my favourite pieces after the jump.

Proenza Schouler FW 2011

Rodarte FW 2011

Jason Wu FW 2011

What I wonder though: how come there isn’t a FNO in Ottawa? We already have a fashion week, set to be utterly remarkable this season (visit the website to learn more), so that’s covered. But one glorious night dedicated to shopping? Do we not have enough retailers? Enough local celebrities? Enough fashion savvy people? Maybe just within the Rideau Centre? I wonder, if someone already has it in the works. Anyway, I’m sad that I’m missing out on the festivities in NYC. Even though I’m not a great fan of crowds, experiencing it would be another thing all together.

Toodles!

(all images hyperlinked)

One thought on “kelly green with envy

What's on your mind?

